Crockpot Recipes that are healthy and IMPOSSIBLE TO SCREW UP :)

This time of year most of us crave something warm to eat, have it be soup, chili, etc. The cold weather can make our crock pot our best friend…. Am I right? Or maybe its just me….. Regardless my non Betty Crocker self has been trying to be more Susie Homemakerish and recently I have tried some healthy, yes HEALTHY edible paleo and gluten free crock pot recipes. All are pretty good I must say too!

I have compiled the list of what I have tried for ya, and their direct recipe links (because lets be real I did NOT come up with these). They’re easy and pretty much no fail. Try them out and let me know what you think!

STUFFED PEPPER SOUP !

stuffed-pepper-soup-with-rice-550x809

I actually did this one in the crockpot, browned the meat as suggested (used ground turkey) then put everything in the magic little crockpot for a few hours. I also made it a little more spicier for our taste by adding more fresh jalapeño and jalapeño juice to it. Topped it with avocado as well vs cheese and omitted the rice.  Very easy to make though and smelled amazing!

http://www.skinnytaste.com/stuffed-pepper-soup/#more

SLOW COOKER THAI CHICKEN and BUTTERNUT SQUASH SOUP

img_0354thai-butternut-quinoa-soup21

This was definitely a winner, creamy and full of fiber and nutrients from the squash and spices. Great for a cold day! (Fair warning if you don’t like spicy then you may not like this 😉 )

http://www.onelovelylife.com/slow-cooker-thai-chicken-and-butternut-soup/

CROCKPOT BASALMIC PORK ROAST

crock-pot-balsamic-pork-roast-550x792

I have to admit I have never been a huge pork fan until recently. This was actually really really good in my opinion. It ends up being more like bbq because of the way it is cooked but it had great flavor, sweet and somewhat spicy/tangy. I recommend it!

http://www.skinnytaste.com/crock-pot-balsamic-pork-roast/

SLOW COOKER PALEO JALAPENO POPPER CHILI

1ca7851d3e0a2dc5a992c8ea8ea72e36

This was the biggest winner so far in our house. It was the perfect combination of spicy and rich with flavor that wasn’t overbearing. The boyfriend didn’t quite understand the popper aspect of it but loved it regardless, will be making this more and more this winter.  It is pretty much impossible to screw up. It is also great to make and freeze for later.

.img_0324

http://www.skinnytaste.com/slow-cooker-paleo-jalapeno-popper/

Chicken Caccaitore

chicken-cacciatore-recipe-2

This is another I did in the crockpot vs pan and it turned out great. I didn’t make quite as much chicken as suggest more like 2 lbs but it turned out good. We also added more red pepper to ti for more of a kick (if you cant tell we like spicy 🙂 ).

http://shewearsmanyhats.com/chicken-cacciatore-recipe/

 

Let me know what you think! Remember healthy doesn’t have to mean bland and complicated!! If I can cook this stuff so can you!

-C

Leave a Reply

