#NOSCALENOVEMBER

So just like I LOVE me some Mondays, I LOVE me some first days of the month… New opportunities and goals to be set with both!

I did this challenge last year, so I definitely want to challenge you all with it again. Anyone who has worked with me knows I don’t let you get near a scale until I say so. As far as I am concerned they are stupid, evil things that get into your brain and try to jeopardize all your hard work by making you think you have done absolutely nothing… Which can potentially lead to self destructive thinking and can in turn lead you to just stop your healthier living journey all together. We get a number imprinted in our head we want to see and until we see it we stress, we beat ourselves up because we “think” we need to be a certain weight. I am living proof that’s a lie, if you go back to my earlier food struggles you can see exactly why in my Coming Clean Blog. I am also not just speaking to the ladies either, this is just as apparent for men.

Reality is, when you work out, strength train and burn fat you also gain lean muscle. This can in turn make it appear you are not losing any real weight according to mr. scale…. when actually that is not the case at all.

My 3 Reasons Why the Scale Sucks:

  • Muscle and fat are not made equally. Muscle is denser (see the image below). Therefore if you lose 1 lb of fat but gain 1 lb of muscle that scale is not going to move…. BUT you have gotten leaner because as you can see that 1 lb of muscle takes up A LOT LESS space than the 1 lb of fat.

  • It’s Never The Same
    • Weigh yourself in the morning when you wake up, then weigh yourself before you go to bed….. You will probably cry if you are trying to lose weight. Why? Because you can gain up to THREE lbs in one day. With food, water, etc that you ingest throughout the day your weight WILL fluctuate. This is not a bad thing as your body NEEDS food and water (duh) . You will eventually absorb and use that food and water for energy and you will rid yourself of everything else if your diet is right, but depending on the time you weigh yourself it can vary drastically. (side note, if your diet is not so great… for an extended period of time… some of that food might possibly stick around though… so eat right πŸ˜‰ ).
  • Because I said so
    • Seriously though, how do you really know what you SHOULD weigh? Why do you get obsessed with getting to a certain number? Ill tell you why, because society makes us think that way, celebrities, fad diets, etc. They all get in our heads. The skinnier the better. So naturally that means we need to go down on the scale not up right?!  I know personally I obsessed over a certain number for far too long in the first picture below, but I am pretty sure I look a WHOLE lot better in that second picture with more muscle/weight!

BOTTOM LINE: 

If you are putting in work, making healthy choices, and doing what you can to change your life then you are doing it right. NO SCALE IS GOING TO CHANGE THAT.

If you are just starting out, know that it can take up to 3 months for your real results to be visible. It takes time and consistency to get to where you have gained enough lean muscle to burn enough fat to really get that scale falling.  On the contrary, if you are doing a fad diet where you restrict full food groups, drinking some nasty juice for days (don’t even get me started), etc, you can see some substantial weight loss initially. THEN as soon as you eat normal again your metabolism will be either slowed down or affected in a way to cause your body to hold onto that food as fat… so helllloooooo weight gain.

You want a lifestyle change… key word LIFE. This isn’t an overnight thing! Make healthy choices, get moving, drink water and sleep. If you do all 4 you are destined to see LONG TERM results. My challenge to you is to stay off the scale from today through December 1st. Keep putting in the work, do everything you can to stay on the healthy train and see what happens. See how you feel about yourself, see your perspective of YOU change. When you are proud of YOU and appreciate yourself, you will see much bigger results. I promise. A scale should NOT determine your worth :).

Who is with me?! Get some friends and challenge yourself. Hide that scale and instead of justifying your hard work via the scale, justify it by each night thinking of the healthy choices you made that day. Keep track and hold yourself and others doing it with you accountable!

Let me know how you do!

And as always if you need help in any way please do not hesitate to contact me!

Leave a Reply

