Surround yourself with the right people

Does your inner circle include people who inspire you?

Image

Motivation and Inspiration in most peoples lives tend to come from seeing what others are doing and wishing we were doing something as grand…. Comparing ourselves, is it a good thing? Yes and no in my opinion. If it is making you work harder to be the best YOU possible than yes. As long as you understand that you are NOT the other person and you are on your OWN journey then that type of comparison is ok. What is not ok is when you are beating yourself up because you are NOT someone else.

Your inner circle:

It is smart to surround yourself with people that have the same values and beliefs as you. If they don’t you may want to distance yourself because they could in turn be doing the direct opposite in your life. People should build you up and support you, not bring you down!

Comparison to our advantage:

We are all human and I would be a hypocrite if I said I have never wished I was more like someone else. Most of my life growing up especially as a teenage girl I guarantee you I did. I still catch myself sometimes admiring something about someone, but now when I catch myself doing it I use it as motivation. If they are close to me I will talk to them about how they became so successful at whatever it is for example. You should always try and learn from others, just do not try to make your life a direct copy of theirs. If you do I promise, you will only end up frustrated and not where you intended to be.

You and I, you and your best friend, etc … are not the same person, accept it and be happy!

We are ALL made up of unique characteristics that God has given us to use to our advantage. Some of us are more outgoing than others, some of us are better on a computer, more artistic, creative or athletic.  I can assure you I am about a 1 on the creative scale. I see stuff on Pinterest that I think, “oh yea I can totally do that”, then I attempt it… and it lasts a total of 5 minutes either because I am bored or have screwed it up worse than a 5 year olds attempt. But my friends that are creative inspire the heck out of me, one can take old furniture and turn it into something beautiful, I don’t even want to think of what my attempt at something like that would be! I on the other hand am more athletic, and in turn motivate many of my friends in that way.

I have friends who are super witty and quick; Me…. I am sarcastic as they come but my quick wit, yea not so much.  The other night I was just talking to one of my friends about how great he is at being witty and being outgoing making people laugh every morning on air, but in real life struggles with certain communication things. Where as me, I am all about talking and communicating with my friends and family, but with people I do not know, I am normally super shy at first.

Another example, my mom, absolutely LOVES to clean, but exercising isn’t her forte. Where as for me, well clearly you know I LOVE working out, but cleaning…. I don’t like living in filth no, but I dread the thought of vacuuming or laundry… and I came from her!

My dad, he LOVES motorcycles and raced for years, and he can talk to a tree and keep it entertained. Me… although he wishes I did I do not ride motorcycles, and I already touched on the shy thing.

My point?

We ALL have strengths and weaknesses. It is our job to discover what those are and act to build on the right ones! Your inner circle should support you. Whether they are like you in a lot of ways or not. It is always good to surround yourself with like minded people, and there values should be similar to yours, BUT having different strengths and weakness is ok. Learn from each other, and support each other.

Life is all about making the most of the time you do have here. Learn your strengths, build upon them and accept your weaknesses as ok. Work on being the best you possible, and in turn inspire/motivate your friends and family to do the same!

Leave a Reply

